IU basketball schedule released


The Big Ten released its schedule Wednesday and Indiana followed with its shortly thereafter. Most of the highlights were already public knowledge. But there were some points of interest. The season will open on Nov. 11 against Stony Brook. Chattanooga (Nov. 13), Gardner Webb (Nov. 19) and Savannah State (Nov. 21) will all come to Indiana for the Hoosier Invitational, which ends with the Nov. 27 home game against Butler. Stetson, Howard and Maryland-Baltimore County are also previously unreported opponents on the schedule. North Carolina Central is also on the schedule but much later than usual. Indiana hosts the Eagles on Feb. 22 as a break between conference games.

The whole schedule follows below and can also be accessed here: IU 2011 Basketball schedule

INDIANA MEN’S BASKETBALL
2011-12 SCHEDULE

November 11 Friday Stony Brook Bloomington, Ind. 7 p.m. BTN
November 13 Sunday Chattanooga+ Bloomington, Ind. 5 p.m. BTN
November 16 Wednesday at Evansville Evansville, Ind. TBA TBA
November 19 Saturday Gardner Webb+ Bloomington, Ind. 8 p.m. BTN
November 21 Monday Savannah State+ Bloomington, Ind. 6:30 p.m. BTN
November 27 Sunday Butler+ Bloomington, Ind. 7 p.m. BTN
BIG TEN/ACC CHALLENGE
November 30 Wednesday at N.C. State Raleigh, N.C. 7:15 p.m. ESPN2
December 4 Sunday Stetson Bloomington, Ind. 4:30 p.m. BTN.com
December 10 Saturday Kentucky Bloomington, Ind. 5:15 p.m. TBA
CROSSROADS CLASSIC (Conseco Fieldhouse)
December 17 Saturday vs. Notre Dame Indianapolis, Ind. 4:30 p.m. ESPN2
December 19 Monday Howard Bloomington, Ind. 6:30 p.m. BTN
December 22 Thursday UMBC Bloomington, Ind. 6 p.m. ESPN3
December 28 Wednesday at Michigan State* East Lansing, Mich. 7:30 p.m. BTN
December 31 Saturday Ohio State* Bloomington, Ind. 6 p.m. ESPN2
January 5 Thursday Michigan* Bloomington, Ind. 7/9 p.m. ESPN2
January 8 Sunday at Penn State* State College, Pa. Noon BTN
January 12 Thursday Minnesota* Bloomington, Ind. 8 p.m. BTN
January 15 Sunday at Ohio State* Columbus, Ohio 1:30/4:30 p.m. CBS
January 18 Wednesday at Nebraska* Lincoln, Neb. 7 p.m. BTN
January 22 Sunday Penn State* Bloomington, Ind. Noon BTN
January 26 Thursday at Wisconsin* Madison, Wisc. 9 p.m. ESPN2
January 29 Sunday Iowa* Bloomington, Ind. 6 p.m. BTN
February 1 Wednesday at Michigan* Ann Arbor, Mich. 6:30 p.m. BTN
February 4 Saturday at Purdue* West Lafayette, Ind. 7 p.m. BTN
February 9 Thursday Illinois* Bloomington, Ind. 8 p.m. BTN
February 15 Wednesday Northwestern* Bloomington, Ind. 6:30 p.m. BTN
February 19 Sunday at Iowa* Iowa CIty, Iowa 1/4/6 p.m. CBS/BTN
February 22 Wednesday North Carolina Central Bloomington, Ind. 7 p.m. BTN.com
Feb. 25 or 26 Sat./Sun. at Minnesota* Minneapolis, Minn. 6/4/1 CBS/BTN/ESPN2
February 28 Tuesday Michigan State* Bloomington, Ind. 7 p.m. ESPN
March 4 Sunday Purdue* Bloomington, Ind. 6 p.m. BTN
BIG TEN TOURNAMENT (Conseco Fieldhouse)
March 8-11 Th/Fr/Sat/Sun Big Ten Tournament Indianapolis, Ind. TBA TBA

Share the Scoop!

4 comments:

  • chicago hoosier #1


    Wednesday, September 7, 2011 - 4:48 PM EDT

    No game in Chicago this year, that is bad. A consequence of adding Nebraska I would think.

  • John Otteson #2


    Wednesday, September 7, 2011 - 5:37 PM EDT

    Are there still two (home) exhibition games yet to be announced?

  • Ryne #3


    Friday, September 9, 2011 - 4:22 PM EDT

    Why in the world are we playing so many “cupcake” games again this year…8 games! This is what happened last year when we looked great against teams that were weak and not very talented. Then, we play Boston C, N. Iowa, and CO and can’t stay with them and get blown out b/c of the HUGE change in talent and ability…We need some gimmie games but I mean come on IU…you can’t expect our guys to get better playing teams that are jokes…The only way to get better in any sport is to be playing better competition than you are. Thats basic knowledge…

  • JohnFromBeyond #4


    Friday, September 9, 2011 - 7:33 PM EDT

    If you always play teams better than you, you probably do get better, but you also end up with zero wins. Last year it didn’t matter WHO we played or WHEN — we lost against almost all decent teams. Did the better teams such as Boston C, N. Iowa, and CO help us during the Big 10 season? Nope. Did the first half of the Big 10 season help us during the second half of the Big 10 season? Nope.

    Had we played fewer cupcakes, we just would have had fewer wins, and a less enjoyable November/December for the fans.

    I tend to think we had a couple too many cupcakes last year, but this year seems like a good balance of tune-up games and “testers”. Look around, pretty much every team plays around 8 cupcakes.

    I think that a good team will bear down and maintain intensity even against cupcakes — and win those games by 40 or 50 points. It’s no real test of how good you are, but you need some extra “practice time” and more opportunities to play your second and third string players.

Scoop Poll:

Can the Hoosiers make a bowl game without Nate Sudfeld?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

IU vs Michigan State Football


Find Notre Dame football coverage on NDInsider.com. © Hoosier Times Inc., all rights reserved.